Sometimes you need a do-over

I wore my new lace top the other day.  And spent the whole time trying to mash down the outer part of the shoulder because it felt like I had wings.  I’d made up the pattern for the top myself and hadn’t thought real hard about shoulder shaping.  I was sure it was going to be just fine to skip shaping and just do a three-needle bind-off.

After the first wearing the top went into a pile for consideration.  I knew I’d never be happy wearing it as-is but the thought of ripping out the shoulders to redo them was discouraging.  I was also pretty certain that I couldn’t fix it with blocking as the fiber is a nice crisp linen.

A couple of weeks of looking at the new summer top that I wasn’t wearing was enough.  This morning I painstakingly picked out the ends I’d carefully woven in and ripped out the neck and armhole edgings, unpicked the shoulder join and ripped each shoulder back 4 rows.  I hadn’t had enough coffee, nor the energy to go find a reference book to do short row shaping so I did the usual stair step bind-off.  I sewed the shoulder seams and redid the neck and armhole edgings.  The armhole edging had rippled a bit in the back, so this gave me the chance to fix that small annoyance.

The top is finished, again.  Ends neatly woven back in and I’ll now wear it happily.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

One thought on “Sometimes you need a do-over”

Leave a Reply

