Weaving in public

It’s been a while since I’ve posted about weaving.  The dishtowel project is on hold right now due to some knitting deadlines but I hope to get back to it soon.

In the meantime, I’ve been weaving outside of my studio.  In July I took an Advanced Beginning Weaving class at Harrisville Designs.  The instructor, Deborah Chandler was great and I learned lots of tips, improved my weaving and got to play with the whole color palette of the fabulous Harrisville weaving yarns.

I was honored to be able to help demonstrate weaving with my teacher Sara Goodman at the Lyme, New Hampshire 250th birthday celebration.  We were part of the Lyme Historical Society’s demonstration and it was a blast.  I had the “easy” loom (4 harness Dorset) with a fun striped warp and lots of bobbins with leftover weft yarns.  There was almost always a child willing to try weaving and once in a while even a line of them waiting impatiently for their turn.  One boy came back three times and would have spent all day on the loom if we’d let him.

As that experience was so rewarding, I’ve volunteered to spend time at the Vermont Weavers Guild booth at the Vermont Sheep and Wool Festival which will be held October 1 & 2 at the Tunbridge Fair Grounds.  Even though I’m only a beginner at weaving I really enjoy talking about the process and getting a sense of how others perceive it through the questions they ask.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

