Critters

I made a horrifying discovery.  There are (or hopefully WERE) critters in my yarn.  See this?  This is a skein of yarn.

Skeins should have two ends.  Finding more means something has been chomping on the yarn. And of course they went for the expensive stuff: a mohair, wool & silk blend.  I’ve found three affected skeins so far.  Time to accelerate my “knitting from the stash” projects.  They sometimes say that she who dies with the most yarn wins. More likely someone inherits a pest problem 😦

We are in the midst of the interesting March weather here in Vermont.  50 one day, 20 the next.  Frozen dirt road one day, morass of mud and ruts the next.  I looked out the window this morning and spied another critter.  The groundhogs that plague our lawn have woken up and a fat, furry brown annoyance was wandering through the yard.  I guess they survived another winter (I always hope otherwise.)

But back to that damaged yarn.  I should probably just throw it out.  But there’s a part of me that wonders if there are enough good bits to knit something small.  I would make nice wrist warmers.  What do you think I should do?

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Critters”

  1. When I bought a second-hand loom I also got big bins of yarns–and about half of them were in this chewed-upon condition. Ick. I did end up throwing quite a lot away, even though that pained me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

