Life imitates art

Deep in the throes of frigid weather with feet of snow on the ground, I needed to weave a scarf that said Spring.  I don’t have a lot of yarn in a spring palette, but I found some orchid tencel and a fun cord yarn with pastel fringe.  As I was weaving the scarf I glanced up at a shelf in my studio and realized that I was weaving the colors of a piece of art I’d just acquired.

scarf with art piece

 

The art is from a local artist, Meg McLean, who does these fabulous paintings of sheep in various settings.  I’d been wanting one for a while and as soon as I saw this one with the flamingoes I got out my checkbook.

The scarf is huck lace in Orchid 8/2 tencel accented with a neat cord yarn with tiny fringe every couple inches.

Well, I’m ready for spring, even if the weather isn’t cooperating!

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

