720, but who’s counting?

I’m making a baby blanket. I’m pushing the limits and using the full 36″ width of my loom. It will be a small blanket because the cotton will shrink up some when I wash it and 36″ wide is a bit on the small side to start with. But that’s OK, I’m sure it will get some use regardless.

To do a good-sized blanket I either need a wider loom (for which I also need a bigger studio), or I need to do double weave and weave two layers at once with a fold down one side. I’ve only tried double weave once, a sample in a weaving class. The smart thing would be to try another sample before attempting a full-sized piece. We’ll see how smart I am 🙂

This will be a log cabin blanket. The colors are light pink and plum. If I did everything right, it will have a border on all 4 sides with a large plain section in the center. It’s 720 ends (strands), each 3 yards long. The strands are threaded two at a time in the reed:

Sleyed reed for log cabin

And one at a time in the heddles:

Threading heddles for log cabin

This is one of those projects that takes a long time to set up and relatively little time to weave. I’ve already spent hours on the threading. Hopefully there will be a finished photo to show soon.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

