Meet the weaver

Do you ever get so deeply involved with something that you forget to step back and set some context?  I’ve been posting here for a while about weaving and knitting and I’m not sure I ever introduced myself!

My name is Jennifer and I’m a weaver. (Well, and a knitter, but that’s for another day.) I weave scarves which I sell in galleries, at my local farmers market and at artisan shows. I weave some other things occasionally (like that baby blanket that isn’t done yet), but mostly I make scarves. I love weaving scarves. I’m not about the speed of the thing, so I mostly make one at a time.  Each is a little self-contained art project. I grab some yarns off the shelf and play “What if?”. I don’t always love what I come up with, but usually somebody does.

I just had a finishing binge and here’s some of what will be going to the gallery soon.

I’m so in love with this scarf that I don’t want to sell it.

Tencel with locally hand-dyed alpaca silk accent

Another spring inspiration

Tencel with pastel multicolored fringed yarn accent

Subtle and elegant

Olive tencel warp with variegated tencel weft

A little more pizazz  

A diamond twill pattern: solid tencel warp, variegated weft

 

  I love the color changes in the accent yarn

Mauve tencel with locally hand-dyed alpaca silk accents

Next time: about the knitting

p.s.  It is officially “Spring according to Jennifer”. The red-winged blackbirds are back!

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Meet the weaver”

  1. I’d be reluctant to sell that scarf too. It’s beautiful. I’m curious, what length do you find works best for a scarf? I made a couple last year that were 140cm, if I remember rightly, and I thought I probably should have made them just a bit longer.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! That scarf is 71″ x 5.5″ (180 cm x 14 cm). It could maybe be a bit longer, but it is long enough to go around twice with a good drape, or double and pull the ends through the loop. I’m putting on a 3 yard warp, weaving as long as I can and cutting 8″ ends to do the twisted fringe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

