The (sometimes) secret business of knitting

I am a knitter.  I was a knitter long before I took up weaving.  Years ago I exhausted the capacity of my closet to hold sweaters, as well as the dollars to keep buying more yarn exclusively for myself.  So I decided to knit for money.

One of my project streams is knitting sample garments for yarn companies and designers.  Sometimes these are new samples of long-published patterns, perhaps to show off a new yarn or colorway.  But once in a while I get to test knit a new pattern.  This is where the secrecy comes in.

I just finished a test knit.  For the yarn dyer I’m making a garment in a new colorway she is going to release soon.  She’ll sell the yarn and the pattern at upcoming shows. For the designer I’m testing the pattern to make sure it is correct (it produces the described garment), and understandable. I won’t be including a picture of this project in today’s post because it isn’t released yet.  I can show you earlier projects, like this one:

Nature Speak Knits' Entreblock neckerchief: display sample knit for Ellen's 1/2 Pint Farm
Nature Speak Knits’ Entreblock neckerchief: display sample knit for Ellen’s 1/2 Pint Farm

It’s a lot of fun to knit this kind of project.  I get a preview of something few others have seen.  I gain some insight into the effort the designer puts into her work and provide a fresh perspective to her as she hones the pattern language.  And sometimes I learn a thing or two that helps me write better patterns myself.

The other secret knits are gifts.  I have a brand new great-niece that I’ve been knitting for but I won’t post any pics yet because I don’t want to spoil the surprise.  OK.  Some of them are pink, but that’s all I’m going to say 🙂

It’s been chilly this last week, but we didn’t get any new snow and in fact the last of the snow in the yard melted on Friday.  The last bit of ice melted from the pond too.  And just in time because we’ve got a Mallard Duck couple hanging out in the pond.  They seem to enjoy paddling about and when they need a change of scenery they come hang out under the bird feeders next to the house.  I can’t imagine Songmaker Supreme is their food of choice, but something must be good because they’ve visited at least twice in the last two days.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

