Inspiration from the past

A few years ago I wove this log cabin scarf out of tencel in slate blue and red.

Log cabin scarf
Log cabin scarf

When I was done with the scarf I wove off the end of the warp using some bits of yarn I had on hand. I wasn’t making anything, just playing around to see what different yarns would do. One part of that playing resulted in this:

log cabin experiment
log cabin experiment

The weft yarn was a multi-colored sock yarn in shades of blue, pink and purple. I came across that swatch recently and decided to see if the idea would make a pretty scarf. I didn’t have any more of the sock yarn though, so I went hunting in my stash for something else.

For the warp I deviated slightly from the original and I’m using this silver and burgundy.  I’ve been looking at this combo on the shelf ever since I connected with some of my high school classmates on Facebook.  It’s, more or less, our school colors and while I had my fill of red & grey by the end of four years of high school, I can use it now without getting too twitchy.

Silver and maroon tencel
Silver and burgundy tencel

which I’ve threaded in a log cabin pattern (alternating one strand of each color and then periodically swapping the order so the same color strands are adjacent, then repeating the alternation.)

IMG_0297
Log cabin threading with color order change every 12 ends

For the weft I’ll use this multi-colored tencel in jewel tones of sapphire, magenta and black.

IMG_0298
Jewel tencel

I quite like how it is turning out.  The inspiration piece is fuzzier from the sock yarn.  I like the cleaner lines of this version.  Can you see how the repeated ends make it appear as if there are raised columns?

Mock log cabin
Mock log cabin

 

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

One thought on “Inspiration from the past”

Leave a Reply

