Derailed

The work plan for the day was weaving.  I wound a warp for a scarf and got it onto the loom.  While I sleyed the reed and threaded heddles I was listening to Tara Swiger’s Explore Your Enthusiasm podcasts.  I finished the current show and then went back to an earlier episode from before I had found her.  All kinds of ideas, for products, marketing and more were swirling through my brain as I worked at the loom.  I was weaving a familiar pattern so my mind was free to wander.

I’m not sure now what happened to shift my plan but the next thing I knew I was hauling out of my “ideas bin” a swatch of knitting that I’d started at least a couple of years ago.  I loved the pattern, from one of the Barbara Walker Treasuries, and the way the knitting pattern shaped the fabric into pleats, but I’d never been able to figure out what I wanted to do with it.  Today I envisioned a sort of very short cape, or maybe a dickey, that was split rather than circular and then joined and worked into a turtleneck.  I had some yarn I wanted to use and armed with a gauge swatch for that yarn which I’d worked previously I sat down to do some calculations.

It wasn’t coming together as I expected and the loom beckoned so I went back to weaving the scarf.  It was going well, but I kept thinking about the knitting.  I went back to my planning and the more I thought about my neck/chest warmer the less I liked it (at least for this yarn, stitch pattern).  In fact I was pretty sure that what it wanted to be was a sweater.  So more calculations, cast on 222 stitches and a sweater is born.  I’ve got a general shape in mind and an idea for how I want the neckline shaped, but that’s about it.

The scarf will wait.  And the other projects in my queue are deferred slightly.  Because, apparently, today a sweater wanted to be born.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Derailed”

  1. I love reading your posts. And I can’t wait to see the finished product because everything you make is beautiful!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

