They call it work for a reason

I love what I do. But I don’t always love what I do, if you know what I mean. It’s Sunday morning and I’m sitting on the couch drinking coffee, pondering this week’s blog post and knitting a scarf for a client. I don’t knit a lot of scarves for myself, mainly because they’re usually pretty boring to knit. I have one lace scarf that I knit, really pretty yarn in shades of light pinks and purples and a memorizable pattern. I think it took me 4 years to knit that scarf. Mainly because I made it vacation knitting and only worked on it on trips. I’m pretty sure that scarf went to Mexico and Turks & Caicos as well as many locations stateside. Even spreading out the knitting like that I couldn’t wait for that scarf to be done.

But I can’t really use that method with projects for clients. It’s a beautiful scarf, the yarn is lovely and once I got the hang of the pattern (same thing every right side row, wrong side is slip 1, purl back) I just had in front of me hours of knitting. The deadline is still a ways out, but if I let that drive my priorities then that scarf will sit, unfinished, for far too long. And I’ll feel guilty if I work on anything else.

Trellis lace scarf in progress
Trellis lace scarf in progress

Well, I did swatch for the next commission, and start knitting some hats but those detours don’t really count. I won’t start the sweater until the scarf is done, I just needed to know if I have to buy needles, so I can jump right into it. And the hats take a different mindset. Really easy stockinette in the round so I can work on those when I’m too tired for the lace pattern.

I just finished getting the next dish towel warp on the loom. 8 yards, about 20″ wide on the loom, 483 ends to thread, in brown cotton. Yep, 483 strands of brown, excuse me, Dark Cocoa, cotton yarn. What on earth was I THINKING? Well, I know what I was thinking. I was looking at the shelves of cones of cotton yarn and thinking what the heck am I going to do with over 1000 grams of brown cotton? I guess I should try to make it into dish towels so I can stop looking at it. It really seemed like a good idea at the time. (And no, I didn’t buy the yarn, it was free. You know how that works.) The plan is waffle weave, so I can use up more of the brown in the weft. But the threading will work for twill as well so I can see changing the tie-up and adding some color in there for some of the towels.

World's most boring towel warp?
World’s most boring towel warp?

While I’m weaving I’ll be working out the marketing plan for brown towels. Mud room? Kid’s bathroom? Through-hiker?

Suggestions, for that or for more interesting blog topics are welcome, just leave a comment!

 

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “They call it work for a reason”

  1. Well, brown towels will be very practical! I just made ones that are predominantly white and all I can think about are berry stains. 8 yards, though–OMG, won’t you get bored?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

