Listening skills

I’ve had a muscle ache for the last couple of days in my upper back/shoulder area. I think that means that an hour+ at the loom followed by an hour+ at the sock machine and a few hours of hand-knitting all in one day were too much. I try to be good and listen to my body but I think the early warning system is defective because I often don’t know there’s a problem until the next day.

This time though I think it was my fault. When orders build up and I’m feeling nervous about the size of the queue my listening skills seem to be the first thing that go. So I plunged right in to weaving the scarf that’s in progress. I kept telling myself I could finish it but the little twinge in my back finally got loud enough. It would have been an excellent idea to get away from all the projects but instead I just shifted to the sock machine. It was really only some fussy yarn that made me step away from the machine and take up the hand knitting.

So I’ve been taking it easy for a couple of days. It’s been an excellent opportunity to get to paperwork and planning that I need to do but I’ve been ignoring. And to think again about how to make myself structure the work day differently so I don’t feel like I’m getting behind and so I don’t allow myself to put off the tasks that aren’t as much fun as making something.

It’s not that I don’t know what needs to be done. I’ve got lists (I’m GREAT at lists) and deadlines attached to many of the items. I know what steps have to be taken to do the item. I know I’ll be happier when I cross things off the list. But still, I choose the potato chips over the carrots.

So, this week the word needs to be Moderation. I’ll ease back into the fiber projects and see if I can knock off a couple of the non-fiber items on the to-do list.

And I’ll spend some time relaxing, stretching and looking out the window. We’ve had a pair of herons visiting the pond this week. It’s a bad photo but as soon as I try to get closer it flies away.

Heron at the pond
Heron at the pond
Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

