Holy Cow it’s September!

It’s Labor Day weekend and even though I have massive amounts of Heron Pond work to do, I’m taking it easy and working on a personal project. Here’s the back of my sweater, Daphne by Elsebeth Lavold, which I’m knitting in her silky wool. It’s a pattern that calls for short sleeves but I’m going to do 3/4 sleeves instead.

Daphne — sweater back

I’ve done the underarm shaping (bind off some stitches then decrease every other row for a bit) and now I’m knitting straight up to the shoulder.

Here’s a little tip I wish I knew when I was knitting my first sweaters.  The pattern will tell you to knit so many inches from the underarm bind off to reach the depth of the armhole. When you are knitting that first row where you bind off a number of stitches (7 in this case) place a removable stitch marker through a couple of stitches in that row PAST THE POINT where you will finish decreasing (see below). When it comes time to measure the armhole depth it is easy to place your sweater on a flat surface and measure straight up your knitting from your stitch marker.

Measuring accurately

You should have seen the contortions I went through trying to do this measurement into thin air (below.) I used rulers to try to extend out my lines, I eyeballed the row of stitches that represented the bind off row and guessed.  What I didn’t do is go out and buy this sewing table which would have helped a lot. Can you believe it?  As I’m typing this explanation I’m looking at my picture and realizing how useful the table’s grid would be.

A less accurate method

On the other hand, if you are a knitter like me, a “flat surface” is more likely to be the couch cushion next to you, or the coffee table with lots of stuff pushed aside to make room. I’m hardly ever going to get up and go to another room when I want a quick measurement.

So, one more day for some personal knitting then back into the fray.  I have lots of events coming up.  Vermont Sheep & Wool Festival is October 3&4. I’m at the Norwich Farmers Market on September 19 and October 17. The DCLSA Craft Fair at Dartmouth College is the Friday before Thanksgiving. Hope to see you at one or more or online if you aren’t local.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

