Not my most stellar performance


This is what a knitting project looks like when you realize you’ve made a mistake and have to rip back (un-knit) some rows. The last time I worked on this sweater (it’s one for me) was Tuesday at the local pub with some friends. I picked it up this afternoon to continue and realized that I was 4 rows past where I should have increased at the edge.  I probably could have fudged it and just done the increase then, but I decided to count my stitches to make sure I hadn’t missed any others.

In the process of doing that I managed to convince myself that I had also forgotten the increase at the end of the row on the prior increase round. So I ripped back 14 rows, got the stitches loaded back on the needle and started the re-knitting.  About 6 rows into that process it dawned on me that there wasn’t supposed to be an increase at the end of that last increase row.

I’m knitting the left front piece of a cardigan. The cardigan pattern has some shaping at the side seams. These increase rows are the side seam shaping. Putting that “missing” increase at the end of the increase row meant that I’d just introduced side seam shaping into the button band. Sigh.

So I’ve ripped back AGAIN. I’ve assured myself that I have the correct number of stitches on the needle, in the correct places, reset my row counter and I’m ready to go. Third time is a charm, right?

Or perhaps it is time to find something less complicated like stockinette in the round.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

