On self-employment

If you are self-employed does your boss give you sick days? How about vacation or personal days?

I don’t keep track of how many hours I work in a week (other than in my part-time gig at the local bookstore.) Some of the appeal of working for myself is the flexibility of my schedule. Work like a mad woman when there is a deadline or a show coming up. Take it a bit easier when things are just cooking along. I mostly try not to work weekends, unless deadlines, and usually I feel pretty good about the effort I’m putting into my business.

But last weekend I was tired, I went to bed tired and woke up still tired. Monday I was sure I was getting a cold, but by Tuesday not so much. But feeling tired and under the weather got me thinking about sick days. Really sick? Pretty obvious to rest and not work for a bit. But just kinda tired and sniffly seems harder to justify some time off.

Same with “personal” time. Sure, I do errands and flex my schedule somewhat. And I take blocks of time at the holidays and for our annual vacation, but the rest of the year I don’t really think about it. I’m not sure I’ve ever played hookey from my business. Just spontaneously decided to take a day off.

It’s kind of an intriguing idea and maybe when I can I’ll try it out. 🙂

But not this week because the Vermont Sheep & Wool Festival is this coming weekend and I have bins to pack, a mess of socks to finish

 

Socks fresh off the sock machine

inventory to update and a scarf still on the loom.

 

Alpaca silk & tencel scarf

I’ll be at the Tunbridge Fairgrounds, Saturday October 3 10-5 and Sunday October 4 10-4. Hope to see you there!!

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “On self-employment”

Leave a Reply

