Seeking balance

Over the past week or so I have found myself swinging wildly from confidence to panic, satisfaction to frustration.

For instance, I’m trying out a new weave structure, undulating twill, and while I like it at first it really isn’t going well. I’d warped the loom for a scarf as that seemed like a manageable size for a sample. It won’t be for sale so weaving it hadn’t been my highest priority. I’ve been having trouble with the right selvedge (it’s “smiling”) and I ignored it for a couple of weeks at least. But I really want the loom for other projects and wishing the scarf was done wasn’t really going to make it happen.

So I sat down today to try to blast through it. At first the weaving was going smoothly and then I managed to fray two of the warp threads at the right edge. I made repairs, but didn’t tension the repair threads well enough so they bubbled a bit at the edge. I’ve just gotten past the point of reintroducing the original warp threads and it seems like a good time for a break. So balance: I’ve made progress I’ve learned a couple of things about weaving (though I still can’t remember what a smiling edge means) but I haven’t driven myself completely crazy.

I was also sick with a cold this week. Really just wanted to sleep for a couple of days, but my inventory is lower than I’d like so work I must. So balance: I spent some of that work time on the knitting queue, comfortably ensconced on the couch, and during the higher energy moments I wove and caught up with business record-keeping. I don’t feel like I overworked myself while sick and I’m not beating myself up for not working as hard as I should.

I’m very pleased to be able to announce that my scarves are now for sale at the Northeast Kingdom Artisans Guild in St. Johnsbury, VT.  This makes three galleries carrying my work which is quite delightful (and sometimes panic inducing.) So balance: taking a risk on a new venture with the knowledge that I know how to produce what I need to make.

It’s kind of like doing yoga poses where my teacher is always telling us that we’re never doing just one action. We may be reaching a fingertip to the floor or block in Ardha Chandrasana but the other arm and the raised leg are stretching like hell in the other directions.

So balance: sometimes achieved in the moment, sometimes over time.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

1 thought on “Seeking balance”

  1. “Balance” is the word that appears at the top of my to-do list every day–I have to always remind myself . . . Regarding undulating twill–I have a warp on my loom right, too, and I hated it until I started using a tabby pick to lock the pattern into place. It doesn’t look like the photo that initially inspired me but at least I haven’t thrown it away yet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

