End of a blogging year

I had a goal, at the beginning of 2015, to blog at least once a week for the year. And knowing my procrastinating self, I determined to post on Mondays. I was pretty certain that I wasn’t going to find anything interesting to post about for a whole year so color me surprised to see that I’ve made it!

I agree that a few of the posts were pretty sparse, just so I could say I hadn’t missed a week. [I didn’t go check, maybe I DID miss a week.] Regardless I think I found something of a voice. Like my business feels at times, posts were all over the topical map, writing about many different things.  For now I’m all right with that. I haven’t figured out anything to stop doing, product-wise, and I’ll probably keep writing about the different aspects of running a business by myself. I don’t know if it will continue to be weekly, but I expect it will be often enough.

But now it is time to think of end of year stuff. As usual after a mad flurry of work my studio is a disaster needing to be reorganized. Finished goods inventory is low (thank you all!) and needs to be replenished before farmers market on the 23rd of January. I’ll do end of year raw materials inventory and think about replenishment of those too.

I have hand knitting in the queue and scarf orders to work on. I’ll also take some time for business planning. I wasn’t where I should have been this year on finished goods inventory so I need a better plan (or at least a better plan for adhering to my production schedule.) I will give some thought to what I’m making and where I’m spending my time and effort. I’d like my growth trajectory to continue upwards and I expect that won’t happen just because I wish for it 🙂

Thank you again to all who supported me: my fabulous customers, friends and family who listened to me vent/ponder/freak out, and my blog followers who remind me that I’m not just talking to myself.

Happy New Year to all and best wishes for a fabulous 2016!

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

One thought on “End of a blogging year”

  1. A post a week is great! Good for you, for fitting that in, especially given all the other things you do. And I love the kind of end of year/beginning of new year planning you’re talking about–even if I don’t follow my plan, i like having it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

