Facing reality

I love a good to-do list.  I live by lists. I love the satisfaction of crossing things off the list. Sometimes I even write things down just so I can cross them off. That last bit is nearly always a sign that I don’t feel in control (of the list, my life, my schedule), but if writing and crossing right off gets me over the panic hump then so be it.

I took a bit of a break last week to settle down from the frantic pre-holiday pace. I spent that week catching up on knitting projects and adding to the to-do list. One of the knitting projects is an order that’s been in the queue for some time now. I started it and then put it aside when things got really busy with orders that needed immediate fulfillment.

As I was knitting and contemplating my list I kept feeling that if only I could clear (finish) some of these lingering projects that I’d be able to easily tackle those new things that need to be done. But this wasn’t knitting that just needed 10 minutes or another hour to finish, it was more like 6-8 hours. And that was the frustration. The longer term projects have been on the list long enough that I start to feel guilty that they aren’t done (even though they don’t have a due date). The shorter term projects, like taking end of year inventory, need to get done before I start using that inventory.

So, time to dust off my scheduling and prioritizing skills. I know how to do this, I just need to DO IT.

Meantime, I did finish one of those knitting projects:

Cabled scarf in Rowan Felted Tweed
Following Seas Cabled scarf in Rowan Felted Tweed

and there are more on the blocking pads:

PEI Loop scarves in Brooklyn Tweed Loft
PEI Loop scarves in Brooklyn Tweed Loft

So, where’s that list, I see some crossing-off in my future.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Facing reality”

  1. You know I feel your pain! I have some longer-term projects that are beginning to wear me down, too. I guess the only answer is to keep chipping away . . . Your finishes look great, though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

