Beautiful and useful

I didn’t set out to make a scissors collection, but I realized I’ve got the start of one. I have quite a few pair (why are they called “a pair of scissors” anyway?) I have them stashed in all the places I work. A pair for each loom, even though the looms are set up a mere 18″ apart. One for the sock machine station, one for the yarn winding station. One each for couch knitting, travel knitting bag, and comfy chair knitting.

Singer embroidery
Singer embroidery. I’ve had these since I was a child.
Long shears, for fabric and cutting warps off the loom
Long shears, for fabric and cutting warps off the loom

They are all utilitarian, but I tend to acquire the pretty ones.

image
Pretty bird, I have a two or maybe three of this style
This style is named Jennifer!
This style is named Jennifer!
My mother brought me these from Ireland
My mother brought these from Ireland for me

This pair is tied to my loom for quick access.  I think the cord is meant to let it hang around my neck, but that drove me crazy!

Turned wood magnetized holder
Turned wood magnetized holder

I have some other types of cutters too.

This one is good when precision isn't an issue
This one is good when precision isn’t an issue
Turned wood handle seam ripper
Turned wood handle seam ripper
Love this cutter and a straight edge for trimming scarf fringe
Love this cutter and a straight edge for trimming scarf fringe

I just love them all. And it is such a pleasure to work with beautiful, and useful, objects.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

One thought on “Beautiful and useful”

  1. I’m completely with you on this! I have scissors all around the house (although I have to admit, when I really need them they all seem to go into hiding!) I have the little stork scissors, too. I like how many of yours look special–too many of mine are kind of ugly, with plastic handles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

