Low energy state

It was going to be a great week.  I had just wrapped up a big project. I was going to tackle a pile of smaller things; some socks to knit, some finishing. I was going to add to inventory in a big way. I was going to tidy up the studio. I had very few outside commitments for the week and plenty of time.

It started out well. I cranked out 4 pairs of socks. I stopped dithering about changing my website theme, selected a new one and worked through all of the changes. I finished knitting a project (secret for now, test knitting a new design from Nature Speak Knits.) I generated some sales reports so I could do some inventory needs projections.

And then there was Tuesday night. Sitting on the couch, minding my own business, and knitting on a sweater for myself, a project that had been shelved since sometime last fall, and the sneezing started. And I realized that my throat was just a bit sore.

The next morning I was certain.  I’d avoided being sick all winter, but now I had a cold for sure.  There goes the productive week I had planned.  Now, the nice thing about self-employment is that you can slow down for these speed bumps. It’s March. It’s not the busy season. I’m not swamped with Christmas orders. So no alarm in the mornings and early to bed at night. I’m catching up on some reading: Finishing Touches for the Handweaver by Virgina M. West and back issues of Handwoven and Interweave Knits. I’m closing sock toes. I’m knitting gauge swatches.

It’s not the week I planned, but on the other hand, I’m getting to things that I kept deferring, and that’s good too.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Low energy state”

Leave a Reply

