On a quest

I’m pulling together the supplies I need for a new knitting project. Before I go out and purchase a new 16″ size 4 circular needle from Addi I’d like to figure out if I already own one.

So I’m on a quest through bags, bins and piles of partially completed projects. I found a 32″ size 5 attached to 3 inches of a sweater that I was designing. I’m sure I blogged excitedly about it some time ago, but I’m afraid to look and see how far back that was.

I found two more #5 Addis, one empty, and one in a swatch that I was worked to figure out if I could use the yarn as a substitute for that called for in a pattern. I couldn’t, of course.

I found 3 partially used center-pull balls of yarn that I’d hurriedly dumped from a project tote bag into a bin one day so I could use the tote for another project. I felt guilty about their messiness so I took the time to rewind them into tighter balls.  Two of the three wound easily. The third turned into a nasty snarl that took a good 30 minutes to untangle. [I refused to cut the yarn to make the process easier.]

None of the other partial projects yielded the size 4 I sought. I did locate the size 4 double pointed needles I’ll need for the cuff ends of the sleeves. They’re bamboo rather than metal. There were 3 sets, two sets of 4 and one of 5 needles, not that anyone is counting.

I do have a bamboo 16″ size 4 circular. The mm size is the same. They’ll probably knit the same as the metal ones. I’ve never worried before about mixing needle materials in the same project so maybe I’m just being paranoid.

But, since I have a 24″ 4 in the bamboo I think I’ll go all wood for this project.  I’ll remember to check my gauge before I’ve gone too far (since I did the swatch on the metal needles) and I’m sure it will all work out fine.

 

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

One thought on “On a quest”

Leave a Reply

