Annual reset

Vacations provide a fine opportunity to step back from the regular pace of life. If you go away, as I did, so much of the daily stuff and routine is necessarily left behind. Although this road trip did allow for some “just in case” packing it was pretty easy to ignore the faint nagging of some of those projects.

I had thought to pack some spreadsheets so I could do some business planning, but managed to leave them behind on the coffee table. A few business-related thoughts skittered through my brain at times during the trip, but I didn’t even hunt up a pad to write them down.

I did make inroads on my pleasure reading pile, but never cracked open the weaving and knitting books that I brought along.

There were museum visits. I have a bit of a thing for glass and spent a blissful few hours at the Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art in Winter Park, FL viewing the works of Louis Comfort Tiffany. Lots of stained glass, some of his paintings and some jewelry. Regrettably there were very few places that photographs were allowed, but I was able to get these.

The Maitland museum had a tiny Dale Chihuhly exhibit, just three pieces. Isn’t this stunning?

image
Dale Chihuhly glass bowl

On the trip home there was time to drop into the Rodin Museum in Philadelphia. I’ve loved his work for as long as I can remember and this museum is a favorite.

It was good to be away and it is good to be home. Rested and recharged. No work done, which is a good thing, but some inspiration for the work to come.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

1 thought on “Annual reset”

  1. I think you’re smart to have so completely put “work” aside, completely, during vacation. The range of art work you saw is exciting–and I’m sure you’re right that it’ll serve as inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

