Quiet please

Do you like noise when you work or quiet? I’m firmly in the “quiet” camp. I was thinking about this as I drove the 45 minutes to my weaving guild meeting. No radio, no podcasts, just blissful quiet in which to think thoughts and let my mind wander. [We’ll ignore for now the annoying rattle coming from someplace in the car.]

When I’m working at the loom or the sock machine the quiet helps me keep track of the weaving pattern, or count the rounds I’ve cranked. Even with a simple plain weave (two treadles, left-right-left-right) I don’t fill the emptiness with music. Sometimes I’ll listen to a podcast while I’m threading the loom, but that’s more about getting through the accumulated episodes than about the need for a distraction.

I guess that’s what it comes down to. The noise is more of a distraction than a companion. I’m comfortable with silence. I don’t feel the need to fill every moment with conversation. I like to see where my thoughts drift when I’m not concentrating. I composed much of this blog post on the trip to and from weaving guild.

The one exception to this seems to be when I’m knitting. For that, Netflix is my friend. I’ll hit pause if I hit a complicated bit that needs figuring out, but otherwise I think I get much more knitting done when there is something to watch. Plus, I’d never find time to catch up on those years-old television shows I missed if I only watched when I had nothing else to do.

I guess, for me, silence really is golden.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “Quiet please”

  1. I mostly agree with you! When my husband is home, there is ALWAYS music on–he simply seems to need it. So, when he’s out of the house, I turn everything off and just enjoy the quiet and my thoughts. Having said that, he was away for about 10 days recently and I finally did turn on some of my favorite music. It was almost tooooo quiet around here.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean. I do occasionally listen to music while I’m working, but as I am compelled to sing along (sometimes just in my head), it can be distracting when I’m trying to concentrate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

