Project prep

Today is a project prep day. I got some new colors of alpaca silk yarn from my dyer friend, Ellen who owns Ellen’s 1/2 Pint Farm. I wanted spring colors and these are just what I was looking for.

The yarn comes to me in big hanks.

image
Spring Pansy, straight from the dyer.

I load it onto my swift and set my ball winder going to wind into a useable form factor.

image
Spring Pansy in a ball

I also got these colors

image
Mums in Bloom
image
North Pansy

While these are being wound, I’ve been threading the loom for a scarf. This is Blazing Sunshine, another of Ellen’s yarns, and one of my favorite colorways of hers.

image
Threading Blazing Sunshine

I’m hoping to have at least a couple of these scarves ready for Farmers Market on Saturday. After that, you’ll find them for sale in my online store.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

Leave a Reply

