A day in my studio

I often get ideas for my blog posts while weaving. In this case I was hemstitching the leading edge of a scarf.


Before I sat down at the loom this morning I was doing a bit of mental whining. As I write this, it is a gloomy day, heavy with humidity with a large blob of rain heading our way. It’s the kind of day that whispers “curl up on the couch and knit” but I’m not giving in to that tempting voice just yet.

My day starts with yoga or stretching, coffee and the morning email check. Then I consult my schedule. I’m writing this on Tuesday and the plan is weaving in the morning and socks in the afternoon.  I don’t always adhere strictly to the schedule, but I’ve found it to be a useful defense against the knitting whisperer. I have three products: handwoven scarves, knit socks and custom knitting. Allocating time in the week to each of them helps me stay on track with my production goals.

It’s all posted on a whiteboard in my studio. I’ve also got my goals for that week, the chart where I tally how much time is spent in each area of the business and a list of long term projects to consider. The board can be something of a nag. Since I see it constantly I’ll feel guilty if I’m straying too much from the plan.

Throughout the day I snap pictures for Instagram and Facebook. I try to resist the urge to check email often, trying to limit myself to 3-4 times per day. Every interruption in the flow is an opportunity for me to be distracted from my current task.

After a quick lunch and email break it was time for socks. But as I passed the loom I realized that I was nearly done with the scarf and decided to finish it.


A quick session with the fringe twister and I can wash the scarf to “finish” it. This one is tencel so it will shrink just a smidge. At this point in the day I’m not feeling the sock machine love, so I settle down to cast on a new knitting project, the first of two Christmas stockings. A couple of hours later it is time for dinner and time to stop working.

It was a good day. Some finishing, some starting and not too many self-generated distractions. Oh, and it finally rained sometime in the late afternoon.

 

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

2 thoughts on “A day in my studio”

  1. I like reading about your plan for getting everything done–it’s sensible and disciplined. I also like seeing that you are somewhat flexible–taking the time to finish the scarf, even though it was “sock time” seems smart to me because finishing is such a lift!

    Like

Leave a Reply

