Silence

I have a love/hate relationship with winter. Love the beauty, hate the driving. Love the crisp, fresh air, hate being cold. Love the warm sweaters and cozy hats and scarves though.

This morning I woke up to gentle snowfall. As I sit on the couch with a cup of coffee and my knitting, I revel in the quiet. Something lovely is happening outside my window and it is completely silent. I love how snow does that. The way it drifts down almost stealthily. 

If it rains in the night you hear the patter, or thunder, of raindrops on the roof. Snow is sneaky. Unless it’s a blizzard, it just sort of creeps in while you slumber and magically transforms the landscape.

Although I sometimes bemoan the blurry line between work and leisure that comes from working at home, snowy days make me grateful that I have a very short commute and a relaxed dress code.

I may stream some Netflix later, but for now I’m watching this woodpecker enjoy the finches’ feeder. I think it is a Downy and it isn’t shy. I guess the seeds are more important than worrying about the camera inside the house.

Author: Jennifer Kortfelt

Owner, Heron Pond Designs, a fiber and textile exploration.

1 thought on “Silence”

  1. That transformation of the landscape happened here, too–it looks like winter now, for sure! And i know exactly what you’re talking about with the silence–the snow seems to muffle all sound.

    Like

Leave a Reply

